Skip to page body Home About Winder City Government Public Safety Services Community Resources

Historic Preservation Commission

The Historic Preservation Commission consists of seven members appointed by the Mayor and City Council. The purpose of the Commission is to protect, enhance and perpetuate properties of historical value, stimulate the revitalization of historic neighborhoods and business districts, and to enhance opportunities for federal tax relief and tax credits for appropriate projects. The Commission typically reviews all proposed new development and exterior renovations within the City's historic district for compatibility and appropriateness. The Commission is considered part of the Planning function of the City, and its actions are coordinated through the Planning Department.

The Winder Historic Preservation Commission meets on alternating months beginning in January on the fourth Thursday of the month at 5:30 p.m. The meetings are held in the Council Chambers of the Winder Community Center, 113 East Athens Street, Winder, GA 30680 unless advertised or posted otherwise at City Hall. From time to time, there may be called meetings as necessary.

Members of the Historic Preservation Commission serve terms of office of 3 years.

Historic Preservation Commission members and terms of office:

Board Member Expiration of term
Bill Bramlett 12/31/2016
Patricia Stallings 01/01/2016
Mike Bentley 12/31/2014
Wayne Parker 12/31/2014
Ted Wood 12/31/2014
Chad Horne 12/31/2016
Kathy White 01/01/2016

(Bold denotes chairman of the commission)

Barrow County Historic District Map

Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.

Download Acrobat Reader Download Flash Player Download QuickTime Download Windows Media Player Download Microsoft Silverlight Download Word Viewer Download Excel Viewer Download PowerPoint Viewer
Last updated: 11/20/2014 3:25:09 PM